The State of Michigan requires ALL dogs over 4 months to be current with rabies vaccine and to have a Michigan dog license, failure to comply may result in a misdemeanor ticket. You may purchase a one or three calendar year dog license.
Are dog licenses required in Michigan?
Michigan State Law requires that all dogs over four (4) months old be licensed. To obtain a dog license, you will need to provide proof of current rabies vaccination and proof of spaying/neutering (if applicable) at the time you purchase the license.
Why do you need a dog license in Michigan?
Dog licensing protects our community by ensuring dogs are vaccinated against rabies. Michigan law requires that all dogs over the age of four (4) months are licensed and all new dogs are licensed within 30 days.
Can you get a dog license online?
You can apply for a dog license online, or by downloading and mailing in an application. To receive a paper copy of the application by mail, call 311. You will receive your dog license within two to four weeks after payment is processed.
What dogs are illegal in Michigan?
Breed Specific Laws in Michigan
|City||Ordinance||Ban/Dangerous or Vicious|
|Buena Vista Charter Township||Unconfirmed||Pit bulls and rottweilers declared “vicious”|
|Carson City||Section: 19.401||Restricts: pit bulls|
|Center Line||Section: 10-66||Pit bulls declared “dangerous”|
|Claybanks Township||Unconfirmed||Pit bulls declared “dangerous”|
Do all states require dog licenses?
There’s no national law that requires dogs to be licensed; this is handled at the state or local level. Some states have license requirements, as do most county and municipal governments. Checking with your local government websites can tell you what type of licenses are required and how much they cost.
How many dogs can you legally have in Michigan?
Except as provided in Section 6.04. 114, it is unlawful for any person to keep or harbor more than three dogs which are over the age of four months on any lot, premises, dwelling, building, structure, boat or living accommodation. Chapter 6.04 of the Municipal Code.
Do you need a license to sell puppies in Michigan?
A kennel license may be required by the county animal control office or local animal shelter. A sales tax license is required depending on the type of products sold, whether from the home or at a retail establishment.
Where can I get a dog license in Michigan?
THREE-YEAR LICENSES ARE AVAILABLE FOR DOGS WHOSE RABIES VACCINATION IS VALID THROUGH 2022. Licenses can be purchased through the mail, in person at the Animal Shelter and Pet Adoption Center or online.